2006 IWPOY Awards Evening

 2006 IWPOY awards

The first ever IWPOY awards presentation evening took place at the Riverside Centre on Saturday 2nd December 2006 to a packed house of Island photographers and distinguished guests. After a brief introduction by the IWDIG, who hosted the event, there was an illustrated presentation by Brian Hinton M.B.E. and professional photographer David White.

Their talk was about the history of photography on the Isle of Wight, Julia Margaret Cameron and Dimbola’s recently acquired “Albert Louis Cotton Album”, a world exclusive. Their talk was both informative, facinating and we believe this could be the launch of a new and formidable double act.

After a short break the photographers of the 50 images selected for the exhibition were presented with their certificates by Mr Charles Chapman, Chairman of the Isle of Wight County Council and First Citizen of the Island jointly with Mr Brian Dennis, Editor of the Isle of Wight County Press.

The highlight of the evening then arrived with Mr Charles Chapman presenting the top three winners with their certificates and large canvas prints of their winning entries. Mr Brian Dennis presented Kevin Mitchell with the first prize of ‘a day with an Isle of Wight County Press Photographer’ and Gary d’Aquitaine, from Appuldurcombe House, presented a special prize to Kevin, a Years Pass for two to their Falconry Centre to encourage him to take more stunning bird pictures in 2007.

Congratulations to all photographers who made the short-list and will be exhibited between 13th February – 19th March 2007 in the Quay Arts Centre, Newport and a very special congratulations to the top three winners whose winning entries will also be exhibited at Dimbola Lodge 2007 (date to be announced).

We must take this opportunity to thank all of the sponsors and everyone involved in the first ever IWPOY competition 2006. It would have been impossible to run this competition and awards evening without their support. Thank you, and we hope to be able to welcome you all onboard again for the IWPOY 2007.